Conservation District Offices Offer Variety of Services

The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources has six Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries District offices across the state offering a variety of services to area residents.

District offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Residents can call or visit a district office to obtain important Department-related information or to report problems. Residents can obtain hunting and fishing licenses as well as permits for Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs). They can also apply to have fish ponds checked. District offices have copies of Department publications such as the “Hunting and Fishing Digest,” and annual Alabama Regulations Relating to Game, Fish and Fur-Bearing Animals booklets as well as information about Department programs.

“The district offices are customer service oriented,” said Gene Houston, Assistant Chief of Enforcement. “We want people to have access to everything that’s available at the main office in their own area,” he added.

In most districts, the office consists of personnel from each section of the Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division - Enforcement, Fisheries, and Wildlife. In the districts where all three are not in the same office, one of the sections may have a separate office within the district.

Following is the list of district offices, counties served, and contact numbers.

District I in Tanner: Serving Colbert, Cullman, Fayette, Franklin, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Morgan, Walker and Winston counties - 256-353-2634. Email:

District II in Jacksonville: Serving Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Dekalb, Etowah, Jackson, Marshall, Randolph, St. Clair and Talladega counties - 256-435-1642; fisheries office in Eastaboga – 256-831-6860. Email:

District III in Northport: Serving Bibb, Chilton, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Jefferson, Marengo, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, Sumter and Tuscaloosa counties - 205-339-5716.

District IV in Montgomery: Serving Autauga, Bullock, Chambers, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Montgomery, Russell and Tallapoosa counties - 334-242-3924.

District V in Daphne: Serving Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe, Washington and Wilcox counties - 251-626-5474.

District VI in Andalusia: Serving Barbour, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike counties - 334-222-5415; fisheries office in Enterprise – 334-347-9467.

- 30 -