Bladon Springs
Blue Springs
Buck's Pocket
Cathedral Caverns
Frank Jackson
Joe Wheeler
Lake Guntersville
Lake Lurleen
Monte Sano
Oak Mountain
Paul M. Grist
Rickwood Caverns
Roland Cooper
Wind Creek
Horseback Riding   
Equestrian Campground 
Business Meetings
Parks Directory
Dog Friendly
Specials & Packages
Weekday Rewards
  Call 1-800-ALAPARK (1-800-252-7275)
  Find A Park What to Do Where to Stay Meeting Facilities Plan Your Visit
View print version

Press Release

Student Artwork Featured in 2012 Coastal Resources Calendar

December 19, 2011

This year more than 1,800 students from Mobile and Baldwin county schools participated in the 2012 Marine Resources calendar art contest held by the Marine Resources Division of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. The 2012 “Conserving and Enjoying Alabama’s Coastal Resources” art calendar will be available free to the public at various locations in January 2012, including the Alabama Marine Resources offices in Gulf Shores and Dauphin Island.
“The calendar art contest promotes an awareness and appreciation of Alabama’s coastal resources,” said Chris Blankenship, Marine Resources Director. “The student artwork in this calendar does a fantastic job of showcasing Alabama’s coastal marine life and recreational opportunities. They did a great job.”
A total of 1,878 forth grade students from 55 schools submitted artworks depicting various marine life and aspects of coastal living. The entries were considered by a panel of judges consisting of three artists and two marine scientists. A reception for the winners, their families, and teachers will be held March 18, 2012, at the 5 Rivers Delta Resource Center.
The winning entries will be matted and framed for exhibitions in five different museums during 2012:
  • University of South Alabama Library Gallery from January 3 to February 28.
  • 5 Rivers Delta Resource Center from February 29 to April 29.
  • Mobile Museum of Art from April 30 to June 15.
  • Dauphin Island Sea Lab Estuarium from June18 to July 27.
  • Eastern Shore Art Center from July 30 to September 21.
The following students are the winners in this year’s contest:
January - Madison Barnes, Allentown Elementary
February - Kaitlyn Armstrong, Collier Elementary
March - Lilli Etheredge, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
April - Logan Watson, Allentown Elementary
May - Jackson Meadows, W.J. Carroll Intermediate School
June - Chloe Duren, Mary B. Austin Elementary
July - Georgia Whiteside, J. Larry Newton School
August - Naomi Kolkana, Allentown Elementary
September - Taylor Reynolds, Collier Elementary
October - Kasi Harris, Collins-Rhodes Elementary
November - Evelyn Prickett, Bayside Academy
December – Emily Lyons, Fairhope Intermediate School
Front Cover
  1. Caroline Cunningham, Bayside Academy
  2. Skye Edwards, Knollwood Christian School
  3. Roderick Lassiter, Allentown Elementary
  4. Gabrielle Villegas, Collier Elementary
  5. Kaitlynd Holston, Dodge Elementary
  6. Makayla Dees, Allentown Elementary
Back Cover
  1. Kaylie Young, Collier Elementary
  2. Harris Pugh, UMS-Wright Preparatory
  3. Max Jones, St. Paul's Episcopal School
  4. Mikaela Boecher, Central Christian School
  5. Courtney Martiniere, J. Larry Newton School
  6. Kaylan Perdum, Allentown Elementary
  7. Hayden Murr, Dodge Elementary
  8. Mac Gaillard, Bayside Academy
  9. Robert Creech, Magnolia Elementary
Honorable Mentions
  1. Brookelynn Farley, Hollinger’s Island Elementary
  2. Hallie Wells, Rosinton Elementary
  3. Annie Loper, Bayside Academy
  4. Bella Bradford, E.R. Dickson Elementary
  5. Josie Segui, W.J. Carroll Intermediate
  6. Isabel Weatherly, Fairhope Intermediate
  7. Jordan Stringer, Hollinger’s island Elementary
  8. Jordan Bryan, Pearl Haskew Elementary
  9. Jeremiah Mosely, Collins-Rhodes Elementary
  10. Ben Shorrosh, Cottage Hill Christian Academy
  11. Ashley Moore, Meadowlake Elementary
  12. Jacque Martin, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
  13. Joshua Fears, Dodge Elementary
  14. Andrew Bartlett, Cottage Hill Christian Academy
  15. Laney Taylor, Mary B. Austin Elementary
  16. Jason Gilley, Allentown Elementary
  17. Sergi Cebrain-Claramunt, Bayside Academy
  18. Blaikely Franklin, Allentown Elementary
  19. Sierra Hartley, Pearl Haskew Elementary
  20. Clayton Bryant, Wilmer Elementary
  21. Mikhaila Hines, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
  22. Emily DeLorenzo, Cottage Hill Christian Academy
  23. Avriana Paulus, Allentown Elementary
  24. David Andrews, Dodge Elementary
  25. Ian Dudley, Collier Elementary
  26. Bailey LaCoste, Cottage Hill Christian Academy
  27. Terrance Barnes, Dodge Elementary
  28. Jenny Florey, Bayside Academy
  29. Chris Miller, Bayside Academy
  30. Ashton Hudson, Cottage Hill Christian Academy
  31. Beatrice Lindquist, Allentown Elementary
  32. Daniel Kuonen-Gaskins, W.J. Carroll Intermediate
  33. Charles Lewis, Collins-Rhodes Elementary
  34. Rachel Majumder, Collier Elementary
  35. Taylor A. Tanner, Collier Elementary
  36. Emmanuel Gregory, Allentown Elementary
  37. Ruchi Sopariwala, Collier Elementary
  38. Zachary Rihner, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
  39. Sydnee Belt, Westlawn Elementary
  40. Brynn Atwell, Central Christian School
  41. Destiny Cheatwood, Dodge Elementary
  42. Nalani Machuca, Dodge Elementary
  43. Christine Ellsworth, Collier Elementary
  44. Cole Langan, St. Paul’s Episcopal School
  45. Madison Thigpen, Allentown Elementary 
The Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources promotes wise stewardship, management and enjoyment of Alabama’s natural resources through five divisions: Marine Police, Marine Resources, State Lands, State Parks, and Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries. To learn more about ADCNR, visit .